Teamhood user roles and access rights

Teamhood offers 3 levels of access control – organization level, workspace level and public access.

Organization level roles

You can define organization account owners by being owner yourself. First user who creates company account, becomes owner by default. Later that user can promote other people to account owners.

Owner can do the following:

  • Activate/deactivate users
  • Promote users to owners
  • Remove users as owners
  • Change subscription / change plan / add more licenses / reduce number of licenses
  • Access billing data

You can manage ownership, users and subscriptions by clicking on your avatar and choosing “Users and Licensing” menu. If you cannot see that menu – you do not have ownership role.

Teamhood user menu

Owner panel

Teamhood roles

All other (non-owner) users will be regular systems users who participate in workspaces. Those users will not be able to access Owner panel. You can invite people from here or directly from any workspace. Read more about different ways of inviting users into Teamhood.

What is the difference between guest and user?

In short – guests are limited licenses for short-term or limited use. Guest user is not a type of role in itself – guest users can be assigned the Reader or the Limited collaborator roles. The Ideal examples of guest users: Marketing Agency invites it’s customer as a guest to see the progress of customer’s projects. Or, Civil engineering company invites subcontractors who participate in their project to collaborate on dedicated tasks.

You can read more about Teamhood guest users here.

Workspace level roles

Reader (available for Guests)Limited Collaborator (available for Guests)CollaboratorWorkspace Admin
View work items assigned to selfYesYesYesYes
View items assigned to other usersYesYesYes
Edit items assigned to selfLimitedYesYes
Edit items assigned to other usersYesYes
Create new itemsYesYes
Create child items for items assigned to selfYesYesYes
Change item schedule, budget, title, tagsYesYes
Create and assign TagsYesYes
Create, edit, delete workspace viewsYes
Create, edit, delete workspace boardsYes
Change workspace settings, delete workspaceYes
Invite users to the workspaceYes

Each workspace can have a different group of people working in it. By inviting someone to the workspace, you are granting access to data in that workspace. You can read more about best practices on how to structure data in Teamhood.

There are 4 roles to choose from when inviting or managing users in workspace scope:

Workspace Administrator

Administrator has all the rights to modify anything inside the workspaces. Including workspace deletion and other workspace member management. Ideally there should be at least 2 administrators per each workspace, but also not too many to reduce risks of deleting/removing essential data.

Collaborator

Collaborators can only modify work item-related data but cannot change workspace structure (boards, rows, workspace settings) and also cannot invite other users into the workspace. This is an ideal role for a functional specialist in your team who performs daily tasks. Workspace collaborators can also delete only the items which were created by themselves.

Limited Collaborator

Limited collaborators can only view and modify items that are either created by them or assigned to them. Modification is also limited to writing comments, attaching files, changing status, and marking items completed. This is the perfect role for 3rd parties like contractors or external team members. This is one of the two roles that can be assigned to Guest users.

Reader

Workspace readers can only view items. Other collaborators can still assign the Reader to items. This is one of the two roles that can be assigned to Guest users.

You can configure workspace roles by clicking on the workspace title and navigating to the “Members” menu.

Teamhood workspace title

Workspace members management view

image 21

Public access and sharing

You can share any view by making it shared and sending a unique share link to anyone who you want to show the work data. Only people who have the link will be able to open and view the data.

Private Boards

Workspace admins can make boards private and allow only certain group of workspace users to view that board. This is useful when you want to keep sensitive information close to your projects or tasks, but yet not to be shared with everyone in the workspace. This feature requires Premium subscription.

Read more about inviting people here.

If you have questions or the above guide is not enough contact us!

Teamhood uses cookies, to personalize content, ads and analyze traffic. By continuing to browse or pressing "Accept" you agree to our Cookie Policy.